Media Center

Press Release


Grand National Roadster Show Features 60 Years Of “America’s Most Beautiful Roadster” Winners

Pomona, CA—More than 20 previous “America’s Most Beautiful Roadster” winners join 60th Anniversary celebration; January 23-25 at the Fairplex in Pomona.

The 60th anniversary of the Grand National Roadster Show (GNRS) will celebrate 60 years worth of rich history with extensive displays of past winners.

All four double-winners of the GNRS will all be present for the 60th celebration: the George Barris-built “Ala Kart” for Richard Peters, winning in 1958 and 1959, currently owned by John Mumford, the wild Bob Reisner “Invader” 1966 and 1967 winner, Lonnie Gilbertson’s 1923 “T-Bucket” that won in 1971, and following then-new GNRS rules was substantially changed to take the award again in 1975. The last two time winner is the “Golden Star” a 1925 T roadster of Ermie Immerso winning in both 1989 and again in 1991.

Along with the double-winners will be these past winners on display in the special “Twice in a Lifetime”hall decorated just like the old Armory shows of the 1950s. Past GNRS winners will include: Blackie Gejeian’s “Shish-Kabob” 1927 roadster from 1955, Rich Guasco’s purple winner from 1961, the 1963 LeRoi “Tex” Smith “XR-6” from its home at the Petersen Museum, the recently restored Don Tognotti “King T” from 1964, the Art and Mickey Himsl “Alien” from 1969, John Corno’s Russ Meeks-built flip-top body 1930 roadster from 1972, Ed Hegarty’s Dick Magoo-built 1932 “Deucari” roadster originally built for Brian Burnett in 1979, John Corno’s John Buttera-built 1929 roadster from 1980, the first Boyd Coddington winner; Jamie Musselman’s 1933 roadster winner from 1982, Chuck Lombardo’s 1983 winner built by his company California Street Rods, James Ells’ Ferrari-powered 1987 winner built by Roy Brizio, Dennis Varni’s Boyd Coddington-built 1929 roadster from 1992, the Chip Foose-built “0032” from 2000, “Seduced” 1932 roadster from 2005 built by Steve Moal, and “Impression” the 2006 winner.

Bookending these great winners are the first winner from 1950; Bill Neikamp’s 1929 lakes roadster also courtesy of the Petersen Museum, and last year’s winner,  the hand-built roadster “Undisputed” owned by Rudy Necoechea.

Phone: 1-877-ROD-SHOWS

John Buck Enterprises  
12223 Highland Ave. #550  
Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91739

Return to top